Monday, 21 May 2018

Photos: Janet Jackson becomes the first black woman to win the #Billboard ICON Award! #BBMAs

Janet Jackson makes history by becoming the first black woman to get the BBMAs Icon Award.
The pop star made her return to the stage at Sunday's Billboard Music Awards, where she performed  a  medley of her greatest hits: 'Nasty,' 'Throb,' and 'If' and took home the Icon Award which was presented by Bruno Mars.
Janet said in her acceptance speech. “I believe that for all the challenges, for all our challenges, we live at a glorious moment in history. It’s a moment when at long last women have made it clear that we will no longer be controlled, manipulated, or abused. I stand with those women and with those men equally outraged by discrimination who support us in heart and mind.”
Past Billboard Icon Award Winners:
Icon Award.
  • 2011: Neil Diamond.
  • 2012: Stevie Wonder.
  • 2013: Prince.
  • 2014: Jennifer Lopez.
  • 2016: Celine Dion.
  • 2017: Cher.
  • 2018: Janet Jackson
Bruno Mars honours Ms. Jackson by kneeling down to present the award to her:

1 comment:

  1. Denrele Yusuf14:24

    Janet yesterday, today and forever more!


Follow me on Twitter: @toyeenbsworld
Instagram: @toyeenbsworlddubai
YouTube: Oluwatoyin Balogun